Brunei Chess Tournaments

25 July to 4 August 2010, at the Brunei Chess Centre in Bandar Seri Begawan

The Brunei Chess Federation (BCF) is organising its first ever title tournaments, two back to back ten player round tournaments from 25 July to 4 August 2010, at the Brunei Chess Centre in Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussallam.

Brunei Invitational IM Tournament 1 & 2 will feature International Masters Oliver Barbosa (Philippines), Nguyen Van Nuy and Duong The Anh (Vietnam) and Women Grand Master Irene Kharisma Sukandar (Indonesia) who together with FIDE Masters Yee Soon Wai (Brunei) and Ramanath Bhuvanesh (India) and long standing junior talent Md Aliuddin Hj Azahari (Brunei) are expected to be the main contenders for IM title norms.

BCF Participants

Participants in Brunei Invitation IM Tournaments

In IM Tournament 1, young Nodir Vakhidov (Uzbekistan) joins veteran Hj Md Baharuddin Hj Mohd Sulaiman and top woman Siti Nur Fatimah Hj Azahari (Brunei) to complete the field while in IM Tournament 2, Dr Ansari Mohd Attar (India) together with Leong Voon Choon and Munir Azizi (Brunei) will participate.

Full player list (Tournament 1):

IM Barbosa Oliver PHI 2458

IM Nguyen Van Huy VIE 2426

IM Duong The Anh VIE 2415

FM Ramnath Bhuvanesh R IND 2387

Hj Sulaiman Hj Md Baharuddin BRU 2339

WGM Sukandar Irine Kharisma INA 2311

FM Yee Soon Wei BRU 2260

Vakhidov Nodir UZB 2134

Hj Azahari Siti Nur Fatimah BRU 2065

Hj Azahari Md Aliuddin BRU 2049

News and photos by Peter Long

BCF Entrance

Brunei Chess Federation Entrance

BCF Leadership

BCF Leadership – Secretary VC Leong, President Hj Zainal & Tournament Director Pg Abdul Rahman

BCF Players - Round 1

Players – Round 1

BCF Weekend Rapid

Weekend Rapid

BCF Excitment at last Round on Top Board

Excitement at last Round on Top Board

BCF Young Visitor with Prize

Young Visitor with Prize

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018