FIDE Women Grand Prix in Jermuk

23rd June – 6th July 2010 in Jermuk, Armenia

The FIDE Women Grand Prix series continues with Jermuk tournament which will take place on 23rd June – 6th July 2010 in Jermuk, Armenia. The winner of each tournament will win 6,500 euros out of a prize fund of 40,000 euros and the overall winner of the series will win a further 15,000 euros at the end of the series.

This series will see the strongest women tournaments of all times and it is important to point out that there are three ex-world Champions taking part as well as the highest ranked women players in the world. Three events have already been completed, when Humpy Koneru won in Istanbul, Xu Yuhua won in Nanjing and Tatiana Kosintseva dominated in Nalchik.

After Jermuk, the last two tournaments will be held in Ulanbaatar, Mongolia, on 29 July – 12 August 2010, and Santiago, Chile, on 27th October- 9th November 2010. The overall winner of the Grand Prix series will challenge the 2010 Women World Champion to a match for the title in 2011.

Jermuk also hosted one of the men’s Grand Prix tournaments, which was won by Vassily Ivanchuk.

Rijeka Kosintseva

Tatiana Kosintseva convincingly won the Nalchik tournament


Hou Yifan CHN 2589

Antoaneta Stefanova BUL 2560

Pia Cramling SWE 2536

Tatiana Kosintseva RUS 2534

Maia Chiburdanidze GEO 2514

Xu Yuhua CHN 2484

Nana Dzagnidze GEO 2478

Lilit Mkrtchian ARM 2477

Elina Danielian ARM 2473

Shen Yang CHN 2452

Baira Kovanova RUS 2366

Martha Fierro ECU 2363

Official website

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018