Armenia Chess Championships 2011

Grandmaster Avetik Grigoryan to defend the title in the Men’s High League

The High League of the Armenian 71st Championship was set to take place in Yerevan from 10th to 22nd January, 2011. Twelve chess players will compete for the title of the champion and the only empty place in the Armenian national team.

Grandmaster Avetik Grigoryan will defend the title after convincingly winning the recently concluded Bansko Grand Open.

The latest news is that Armenian Chess Federation has decided to postpone the start of the Championship until January 17th. With this decision federation wants to allow time for GM Zaven Andriasian to recover from illness and take participation in the Championship.

Bansko Avetik Grigoryan 3

Grandmaster Avetik Grigoryan


Pashikian Arman 2640

Melkumyan Hrant 2605

Petrosian Tigran L. 2604

Andriasian Zaven 2603

Grigoryan Avetik 2595

Anastasian Ashot 2579

Minasian Artashes 2563

Ter-Sahakyan Samvel 2560

Hovhannisyan Robert 2530

Kotanjian Tigran 2519

Petrosian Davit G. 2485

Minasian Ara 2464

In the meantime, the 66th Armenian Women’s Championship started on schedule and continues until 19th January. The winner will also earn the right to play for the national team in the European Championship.


WIM Andriasian Siranush 2217

WIM Gasparyan Narine 2125

WGM Movsisian Naira 2100

WFM Martirosyan Lia 2082

Gevorgyan Maria 2064

Babayan Armine 2053

WFM Kharatyan Anahit 2047

Kalashyan Varduhi 2017

Sargsyan Shushanna 2000

Meseljyan Astghik 1892

Armenia Chess Championship

participants and live games

The 70th Armenia Chess Championship is taking place in Yerevan, January 22-30, 2010.A total of 8 grandmasters and two international masters participate in the highest league, where top seeded is the golden medalist from the Olympiad Tigran Petrosian. will follow daily the championship with reports, the games will be at the live games platform with chat and computer analysis.

Official site is Armenian chess federation


Petrosian radiant with the flag

Pairings and participants

1 GM Petrosian Tigran L GM Andriasian Zaven

2 GM Grigoryan Avetik GM Kotanjian Tigran

3 GM Minasian Artashes GM Petrosian Davit G

4 GM Melkumyan Hrant IM Kalashian David

5 IM Hovhannisyan Robert GM Chibukhchian Artur

1 GM Andriasian Zaven GM Chibukhchian Artur

2 IM Kalashian David IM Hovhannisyan Robert

3 GM Petrosian Davit G GM Melkumyan Hrant

4 GM Kotanjian Tigran GM Minasian Artashes

5 GM Petrosian Tigran L GM Grigoryan Avetik

1 GM Grigoryan Avetik GM Andriasian Zaven

2 GM Minasian Artashes GM Petrosian Tigran L

3 GM Melkumyan Hrant GM Kotanjian Tigran

4 IM Hovhannisyan Robert GM Petrosian Davit G

5 GM Chibukhchian Artur IM Kalashian David

1 GM Andriasian Zaven IM Kalashian David

2 GM Petrosian Davit G GM Chibukhchian Artur

3 GM Kotanjian Tigran IM Hovhannisyan Robert

4 GM Petrosian Tigran L GM Melkumyan Hrant

5 GM Grigoryan Avetik GM Minasian Artashes

1 GM Minasian Artashes GM Andriasian Zaven

2 GM Melkumyan Hrant GM Grigoryan Avetik

3 IM Hovhannisyan Robert GM Petrosian Tigran L

4 GM Chibukhchian Artur GM Kotanjian Tigran

5 IM Kalashian David GM Petrosian Davit G

1 GM Andriasian Zaven GM Petrosian Davit G

2 GM Kotanjian Tigran IM Kalashian David

3 GM Petrosian Tigran L GM Chibukhchian Artur

4 GM Grigoryan Avetik IM Hovhannisyan Robert

5 GM Minasian Artashes GM Melkumyan Hrant

1 GM Melkumyan Hrant GM Andriasian Zaven

2 IM Hovhannisyan Robert GM Minasian Artashes

3 GM Chibukhchian Artur GM Grigoryan Avetik

4 IM Kalashian David GM Petrosian Tigran L

5 GM Petrosian Davit G GM Kotanjian Tigran

1 GM Andriasian Zaven GM Kotanjian Tigran

2 GM Petrosian Tigran L GM Petrosian Davit G

3 GM Grigoryan Avetik IM Kalashian David

4 GM Minasian Artashes GM Chibukhchian Artur

5 GM Melkumyan Hrant IM Hovhannisyan Robert

1 IM Hovhannisyan Robert GM Andriasian Zaven

2 GM Chibukhchian Artur GM Melkumyan Hrant

3 IM Kalashian David GM Minasian Artashes

4 GM Petrosian Davit G GM Grigoryan Avetik

5 GM Kotanjian Tigran GM Petrosian Tigran L

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018