European Senior Chess Championship 2011

4-14 April 2011, in Courmayeur, Aosta Valley – Italy

The European Chess Union, Italian chess Federation and Comité Valdôtain d’Echecs organize the 11th European Senior Chess Championship on 6-14 April 2011, in Courmayeur, Aosta Valley – Italy. The European Senior Chess Rapid 2011 will take place a bit earlier, on 4-5 April 2011, in the same playing venue.

Participant can be any gentleman or lady who is registered by his ECU federation, and he reached his 60th birthday till 01.01.2011 or she reached her 50th birthday till 01.01. 2011. The Winners in their respective category are titled as European Senior Champions.

The Championship shall be played in 9 rounds following the Swiss System. Time control is 40 moves in 90 minutes and 30 minutes to the end of the game. The player will additionally receive 30 seconds for each move.

The Rapid championship shall be played in 9 rounds following the Swiss System as well. The time control shall be 25 minutes for the game, for each player, additional 10 seconds for each move.

Aosta Valley

Outside the playing hall

Located at the meeting point of three countries, Italy, France and Switzerland, Courmayeur (1224 m.) is the essence of the Alps. With its international character and a deep-rooted alpine identity, Courmayeur is a place of encounters and contrasts. The spectacular views on the southern side of Mont Blanc are the backdrop for the intimate and welcoming landscapes, which are the product of centuries-old alpine culture committed to its environment and dedicated to offer the best to all those that love mountains.

Regulations (PDF) / Official website

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018