Grand Slam Final in Bilbao and Sao Paulo

Anand, Carlsen, and Nakamura confirmed

The top chess players will once again meet each other in the 2011 Grand Slam Final, which will be played 25 September to 11 October. The tournament picks up a Linares type model, making the tournament a double round robin and splitting the event between two venues – Sao Paulo and Bilbao.

The presentation of the Final Chess Masters itself will happen on board of the thematic chess cruice MSC Ópera. Then the first rounds of the event will be played in Sao Paulo and the second part will be in Alhóndiga Bilbao.

The Grand Slam 2011 is a double round robin with 6 players. GM Magnus Carlsen (winner of Nanjing), GM Viswanathan Anand (World Champion), and GM Hikaru Nakamura (winner of Corus) are confirmed participants. One more will be selected from the tournament of Bazna Kings in June, while two more nominees will be announced later.

One more time Sofia rule and Bilbao rule will be part of the Grand Slam final.

Bazna Kings is the next Grand Slam event

Official homepage

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018