Iceland Chess Championship Starts this Friday

Ten-player round robin in Eidar, near the town of Egilsstadir

The Icelandic Chess Championship will start this Friday, April 15, in the resort of Eidar, near the town of Egilsstadir. Ten of Iceland’s strongest player, including three GMs, will contest the highly sought-after crown, in an event featuring some of the strongest line-up for years.

The 9-round championship is being held in the eastern part of Iceland for the first time in 21 years. Last time around in 1990 – in the town of Hofn by Hornafjordur – the championship was won by then 15-year old (and now GM) Hedinn Steingrimsson, a record in the history of the championship, which has been held since 1913.

In addition to GM Steingrimsson, only one other former champion, GM Henrik Danielsen, who topped the 2009 event, takes now part. Eleven-time, and defending champion GM Hannes Stefansson, however, will be absent.

Bansko Henrik Danielsen

GM Henrik Danielsen

Chess enthusiasts can follow live broadcast, starting at 2 PM GMT, on the Icelandic Chess Federation’s website.


GM Steingrimsson Hedinn 2554

GM Danielsen Henrik 2533

IM Kristjansson Stefan 2483

IM Thorfinnsson Bragi 2417

GM Thorhallsson Throstur 2387

FM Johannesson Ingvar Thor 2338

IM Kjartansson Gudmundur 2327

FM Lagerman Robert 2320

Gislason Gudmundur 2291

Halldorsson Jon Arni 2195

Gunnar Bjornsson,

President of the Icelandic Chess Federation

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018