Doebrl Cup 2009

Chess at the Hellenic Club, Canberra, April 9-13 2009

The Doebrl Cup 2009 will take place at the Hellenic Club, Canberra, April 9-13 2009 with the participation of many strong players. As usual, the event comes in a combination with the Sydney International Open and the participants of the two events are very similar. Top seeded at Doebrl is the 2009 Corus B participant GM Dimitri Reinderman. He will have a strong opposition by one of the top English players GM Gawain Jones and by a strong delegation from India – GM Neelotpal Das, GM Abhijit Kunte, GM Chakkravarthy Deepan, IM Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury, IM Deep Sengupta, IM Jha Sriam, IM Swayangsu Satyapragyan, and IM Rathnakaran.

The top Australian player, who is also 5th seeded at the event, is IM David Smerdon. He is joined by fellow countrymates GM Darryl Johansen, IM George Xie, Endre Ambrus, IM Gary Lane, WIM Arianne Caoli and over 50 more Australians in the Premier event.

For full information about the event, visit the official website.

History of the Doeberl Cup

The Doeberl Cup is the longest running weekend chess event in Australia. Since 1963 it has been held every year in Canberra, Australia. Grandmaster Ian Rogers holds the record for the most number of wins (either outright or on tie-break) with 12. (See a list of the previous winners)

The Doeberl Cup was named after its primary sponsor, E. Doeberl, and although it is no longer sponsored by his family, the name is still used to describe the tournament. In 2007 O2C was the major sponsor of the tournament and from 2008 to 2012 has attained the rights to run the tournament.

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018