Donostia Chess Festival

Four round robin tournaments, 7-16th July

Donostia Chess Bauer

GM Christian Bauer

Donostia Chess Festival is scheduled to take place on 7-16th July in Donostia/San Sebastain, Spain. The festival consists of four tournaments (participants listed bellow) and the main event “San Sebastián European Cultural City 2016 Tournament” is feauting a lineup with average rating of 2682 elo. All tournaments are 10-player round robins.

Five-time Russian Champion Peter Svidler is top seeded player and the organizers have also taken care to include former World Champions, Ruslan Ponomariov, Rustam Kasimdzhanov and Anatoly Karpov, who is coming back in action after 2007 Valjevo Gorenje. Young stars of the tournament are Maxime Vachier-Lagrave and U.S. Champion Hikaru Nakamura.

KUTXA Tournament is a mix of strong local players and international stars that are members of the chess club Gros Xake Taldea, one of the festival organizers. commentator and good friend GM Christian Bauer is second-seeded.

The third tournament, Euskal Xake Eskola, is named after the reference chess academy for kids and teachers in the Basque Country. Many schools have joined their project for introducing chess at schools at many levels.

Gipuzkoa Regional Government or “Diputacion” is sponsoring the women’s tournament. The event has average rating of 2318 which makes it a women category 11. Top seeded is Tania Sadchev, India.


Sergei Movsesian

Maxime Vachier-Lagrave 2

Maxime Vachier-Lagrave


Tania Sadchev

Official website

San Sebastián European Cultural City 2016 Tournament

Peter Svidler 2739

Ruslan Ponomariov 2727

Sergei Movsesian 2716

Hikaru Nakamura 2710

Maxime Vachier-Lagrave 2703

Francisco Vallejo 2693

Rustam Kasimdzhanov 2672

Julio Granda 2647

Anatoly Karpov 2644

Pablo San Segundo 2570

Rating average: 2682

KUTXA Tournament

Loek Van Wely 2655

Christian Bauer 2602

Hicham Hamdouchi 2589

Elizbar Ubilava 2547

Roberto Cifuentes 2539

Jordi Magem 2534

Arnaud Hauchard 2528

Jose Luis Fernandez 2465

Antonio Fernandes 2415

Iñigo Argandoña 2364

Rating average: 2524

Euskal Xake Eskola Tournament

Marcos Llaneza Vega 2521

Eric Prie 2491

Glenn Flear 2490

Alejandro Franco Alonso 2480

Mikel Huerga Leache 2456

Alejandro Hoffmann 2444

Luis Galego 2435

Santiago González de la Torre 2390

Iñigo Martin Alvarez 2239

Christian Michna 2224

Rating average: 2417

Diputación Foral de Gipuzkoa Tournament

Sachdev Tania 2410

Sophie Milliet 2388

Regina Pokorna 2381

Martha Michna 2379

Adina-Maria Hamdouchi 2324

Irina Zakurdjaeva 2305

Yana Melnikova 2285

Iulia-Ionela Ionica 2263

Vesna Rozic 2239

Anastazia Karlovich 2211

Rating average: 2318

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018