The European Team Chess Championship

27 October – 7 November 2007, Crete, Greece

The European Team Chess Championships (ETCC) will take place 27 October – 7 November 2007 in the luxurious Creta Maris Conference Hotel in Crete, Greece. The Organising Committee is ready to offer another 5-star quality event, in line with the high standards established since the World Youth Championships of 2002 and 2004 which were also held in Crete.

The ETCC is the oldest event of the European Chess Union, with a history going back to 1957. The previous winners: 1957 – 1989 USSR (9 times), 1992 and 2003 Russia, 1997 England, 1999 Armenia, 2001 and 2005 the Netherlands. In the women’s event (it started in 1992) no country has yet to win the title twice! The past winners are Ukraine 1992, Georgia 1997, Slovakia 1999, France 2001, Armenia 2003, Poland 2005.

This year, Europe’s finest grandmasters will gather in Crete to perform for their national teams. An all-year round sunny island, famous for its hospitality, the natural beauties and its history which runs five thousand years back to the Minoan civilization. We are looking forward to welcoming all European delegations and making their stay in Crete the most pleasant one!

More information, including regulations of the event and updates, can be found in the official website of the event at

IM George Mastrokoukos

Chief Executive Officer

Organising Committee “ETCC 2007″

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018