1st Dragon Capital Vietnam chess open

GM Azmaiparashvili, GM Nguyen, GM Le Quang , and GM Wesley So top seeded

The Dragon Capital Viet Nam Chess Tournament Open will kick off tomorrow, August 27th, in the southern province of Ba Ria-Vung Tau. The tournament is the sixth and last elimination round under the Grand Prix system in the Asian-Pacific region. The event will pick the most talented chess players in the region to compete in world tournaments. The 1st Dragon Chess tournament, which will give out a total of US$20,000, is scheduled to take place from tomorrow to next Tuesday with nine matches, and attracting many players from the Philippines, Singapore, Myanmar, Georgia, Australia, India and Vietnam.

The time control of the tournament will be 90 minutes for the whole game with 30 seconds increment for every move starting from the first move. The official playin venue is P & T Hotel, Vung Tau, Vietnam.

A total of 44 players will participate in the 1st Dragon Capital Vietnam chess tournament. 31 of them are titled, 10 are GMs.

The top five in the overall standings in the ASEAN Grand Prix until now, all in the running for a share of the USD 25,000 prize for overall winners are IM Sadorra, GM Wesley So, GM Joey Antonio, IM Rolando Nolte, and IM Richard Bitoon, all from the Philippines.

In 6th and 7th places are GM Li Chao and IM Zhao Weiqi of China, and in 8th is IM Tirto from Indonesia. Dino Ballecer and IM Barlo Nadera, both also from the Philippines, round off the top 10 in 9th and 10th places respectively.


1 GM Azmaiparashvili Zurab GEO 2615

2 GM Nguyen Ngoc Truong Son VIE 2579

3 GM Le Quang Liem VIE 2577

4 GM So Wesley PHI 2577

5 GM Dzhumaev Marat UZB 2549

6 GM Shanava Konstantine GEO 2522

7 Nolte Rolando PHI 2522

8 FM Phyo Chit MYA 2500

9 GM Nguyen Anh Dung VIE 2499

10 GM Tu Hoang Thong VIE 2493

11 GM Dao Thien Hai VIE 2489

12 GM Zaw Win Lay MYA 2488

13 FM Zaw Oo MYA 2485

14 IM Sadorra Julio Catalino PHI 2470

15 FM San Thit Lwin MYA 2450

16 IM Bitoon Richard PHI 2439

17 IM Wynn Zaw Htun MYA 2428

18 Sie Thu MYA 2414

19 IM Goh Weiming SIN 2403

20 IM Tu Hoang Thai VIE 2395

21 CM Nguyen Van Huy VIE 2386

22 Vo Thanh Ninh VIE 2360

23 FM Pham Chuong VIE 2343

24 FM Hoang Canh Huan VIE 2339

25 FM Nguyen Duc Hoa VIE 2319

26 CM Nguyen Hoang Nam VIE 2310

27 WIM Le Kieu Thien Kim VIE 2286

28 CM Tran Thanh Tu VIE 2267

29 CM Nguyen Van Hai VIE 2232

30 Le Quang Long VIE 2226

31 FM Ton That Nhu Tung VIE 2216

32 CM Nguyen Van Thanh VIE 2194

33 WFM Dang Bich Ngoc VIE 2194

34 Doan Van Duc VIE 2160

35 WFM Nguyen Thi Mai Hung VIE 2158

36 Nguyen Manh Truong VIE 2131

37 Tran Ngoc Lan VIE 2123

38 Huynh Mai Phuong Dung VIE 2099

39 WIM Nguyen Quynh Anh VIE 2098

40 Attwood James AUS 2069

41 Pham Thi Ngoc Tu VIE 2065

42 Dong Bao Nghia VIE 2006

43 Do Hoang Minh Tho VIE 0

44 Pham Xuan Dat VIE 0

Official website

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018