India National Team Chess Championship

21-27th February in Gurgaon

Gurgaon, 14-02-2010 – After successfully organizing First Gurgaon International Grandmaster Chess Tournament in 2009, Gurgaon is all set to host another mega Chess event. 30th National Club Team Chess Championship and 8th National Club Team Chess Championship for Women is being organized by The Haryana Chess Association and Distt. Chess Association Gurgaon under the aegis of All India Chess Federation (AICF) from 21st to 27th Feb. at prestigious venue D.A.V. Public School, Sector -14, Gurgaon.

General Secretary of the Haryana Chess Association Pradeep Gupta told here in a press conference that several Teams from various States, Corporations and Boards are participating from all over India and the National Club Team will also be recommended by AICF from the winners of this Championship for the World Club Cup to be held at Dubai from 11th to 20th July 2010.

Several top brass Grandmasters, International Masters and Women Grand Masters of India are participating in this Championship from all parts of India. Gupta further told that GM K. Sasikiran, GM Deepan Chakravorthy, GM S. Arun Prasad, GM S. Kidambi and GM Abhijit Kunte from Peteroleum Sports Promotion Board, GM Parimarjan Negi and GM Tejas Bakre from Air India, GM R. R. Laxman from Railway Sports Promotion Board and GM Sriram Jha from LIC have already confirmed their participation in the Championship to make the event power house of Chess in India.

Gurgaon press

Tournament Coordinator Naresh Sharma told that all the teams will consist of 4 players each with one extra player. The unique opportunity of the Title Norms is also available for the players in this Championship. Sharma further told that there will be a cash prize fund of Rs. 1,82,000/- and for the first time Haryana is hosting such a big event in chess. The Tournament will be played with FIDE laws of Chess in 9 Rounds under FIDE Swiss League System. Session of play & time control will be Team Swiss with a time control of 90 minutes each + 30 Secs increment per move from move No1.

Top 25 Boards of the Championship will be covered live on our website Mrs. Anita Makkar, Principal of DAV Public School, Sector-14, Gurgaon has assured full cooperation to make this mega event a grand success and memorable. Bharat Singh Chauhan, Treasurer- AICF was also special invitee in the conference. Members of the organizing committee Raju Verma, Sharmender Singh, Deshratan Gulati, Anil Parnami and Balraj were also present in the Press Conference.

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018