Nguyen Ngoc Truong Son top seeded at KL Open 2009

4-8 September, 2009

kl open chess championship

This year the KL Open will be played from 4-8 September, an intensive 9 rounds swiss tournament, squeezing the rounds over 5 days. It will be four days of double rounds, starting at 8 am in the morning and 2 pm in the afternoon.

A total of 57 players will join the event, out of which 7 GMs, 7 IMs, 2 WIMs, 5 FMs, etc.

Vietnam comes with five players to the KL open, three of which Grandmasters. Nguyen Anh Dung is always coming together with Nguyen Van Nuy, but surprisingly for KL Organizers, GM Nguyen Ngoc Truong Son also asked to play and then Grandmaster Dao Tien Hai informed that he would be coming together with Nguyen Hoang Nam. So, from a planned event for International master title norms for the 2300 level players and opportunities to increase their ratings for others we had in one stroke become a Grandmaster event.

National team member Nguyen Van Nuy of Vietnam, International Master Tirto of Indonesia (2 Grandmaster norms), Kazakhstan National Champion Yevgeniy Pak, and even the young Singapore FIDE Masters Timothy Chan and Daniel Chan among the many who will be looking for norms at the KL Open 2009. One challenge being faced by regular campaigners such as the strong International Master Richard Bitoon from the Philippines (who boasts a rating higher than many Asian grandmasters) is that the vast majority of “Grandmaster” Opens in Asia demands that the Grandmaster title candidates have to be leaders throughout the event while playing seven or so grandmasters from nine rounds in the process and even winning might not be enough! Given the participants at KL Open, however, one could play as few as three grandmasters and three international masters and so have three games against relatively weaker opposition with higher chances for norms.

International Master Richard Bitoon, 2362 rated Rustum Tolentino, International Woman Master Beverly Mendoza, and National Master Edmundo Legaspi will be representing the Philippines.

Grandmasters Saidali Iuldashev and Marat Dzhumaev are no strangers to Malaysia but the KL Open is new to them and we welcome them for sure in the absence of their defending champion countryman Anton Filippov. Playing together with them is their National Champion, International Woman Master Nafisa Muminova, and also the young Kazakhstan National Champion Yevgeniy Pak.

Of the 60 or so entries, Indonesia has 20 entries, and once again they are fully represented with players from all over Indonesia and at all levels. They have their national teams, top juniors, girls, etc. all playing, amongst them Grandmaster Susanto Megaranto, International Masters Sadikin Irwanto, Dede Liu, Tirta Purnama Chandra, and Tirto, FIDE Masters Wahono Awam and Mahmud Sharif, Candidate Master Farid Firman Shah, and so on.

More information: official site and tournament preview


1 GM Nguyen Ngoc Truong Son VIE 2589

2 GM Thien Hai Dao VIE 2542

3 GM Dzhumaev Marat UZB 2532

4 GM Megaranto Susanto INA 2527

5 IM Vakhidov Tahir UZB 2520

6 GM Iuldachev Saidali UZB 2519

7 IM Bitoon Richard PHI 2490

8 GM Nguyen Anh Dung VIE 2454

9 IM Irwanto Sadikin INA 2429

10 IM Liu Dede INA 2419

11 CM Van Huy Nguyen VIE 2414

12 IM Tirto INA 2407

13 FM Wahono Awam INA 2393

14 FM Chan Wei Xuan Timothy SIN 2363

15 Tolentino Rustum PHI 2362

16 FM Pak Yevgeniy KAZ 2348

17 FM Mahmud Syarif INA 2347

18 FM Chan Yi-Ren Daniel SIN 2340

19 CM Nguyen Hoang Nam VIE 2329

20 WIM Muminova Nafisa UZB 2320

21 IM Gokhale Chandrashekhar IND 2284

22 IM Shetty Rahul IND 2270

23 Udani Ian PHI 2241

24 Panggabean Hasian INA 2226

25 CM Neubronner Jarred SIN 2220

26 CM Farid Firman Syah INA 2207

27 Legaspi Edmundo PHI 2158

28 Kalugampitiya R.S. SRI 2131

29 Eng Andre-Jerome SIN 2089

30 Ismail Ahmad MAS 2089

31 Lee Kim Han Edward MAS 2089

32 WIM Mendoza Beverly PHI 2060

33 Neubronner Shannon Scott SIN 2050

34 Foo Benjamin SIN 2037

35 Rahman Masruri INA 1987

36 WCM Sihite Chelsie Monica INA 1986

37 Ferdiman Tersiman INA 1979

38 WCM Medina Warda Aulia INA 1950

39 Abedin Md. Jaynul BAN 1947

40 WFM Dewi A. A. Citra INA 1931

41 Biswajit Bharadwaj IND 1920

42 Sathiyanarayanan R V IND 1822

43 Dissanayake  R.d.a.c. SRI 1811

44 Lee Kai Jie Edward SIN 1763

45 Wong Jianwen MAS 1763

46 Chen I-Chen TPE 1715

47 Haslindah Ruslan MAS 1698

48 M. Vivek IND 1661

49 Chan Yi Jun Timothy SIN 1594

50 Abdul Wahab Najib MAS 0

51 Jafar Sofyan INA 0

52 Mohamed Abdul Haq MAS 0

53 Oentoro Djoni INA 0

54 Tan Fischer SIN 0

55 Tan Li Ting MAS 0

56 Tanda Joni INA 0

57 Virda Riska Aulia INA 0

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018