Linares 2009

Anand will participate in the 2009 edition of Linares chess tournament

Anand square

Linares chess 2009 will take place February 18 – March 8, 2009, in Linares, Spain. This 26th edition of Torneo Internacional “Ciudad de Linares” will be played only in Spain. The Morelia site will not be on the agenda this year, but the organizers have confirmed that in 2010 the Mexican city will rejoin the competition again.

Linares will be the first major competition of 2009 for the World Champion Viswanathan Anand after the match in Bonn. Anand is the winner of 2008, as well as 2 more editions of the event – 2007 and 1998. Before the January 2009 rating list he will be top seeded of the event, as Veselin Topalov has canceled his participation due to the match with Kamsky.

Exactly this cancellation is one of the reasons the full participants list to be delayed. However, one name managed to sneak out. It is the 2700 club member Lenier Dominguez, who currently has a virtual rating of 2719.

Update - The full list of participants is now available: Viswanathan Anand, Magnus Carlsen, Vassily Ivanchuk, Levon Aronian, Teimour Radjabov, Wang Yue, Alexander Grischuk and Lenier Dominguez.

More about Linares

Linares is often described as the Wimbledon of chess, being one of the strongest annual tournaments held. It is part of the chess Grand Slam, together with Corus Wijk Aan Zee, Mtel Masters, and Bilbao Masters. The event has been around since 1978 and always thanks to the same sponsor – Don Luis Rentero. Being a financially attractive event and a traditionally top chess competition, the tournament has always been a magnet for the top chess players. In 1994 it became the first Category XVIII tournament ever held, and Linares 1998 was category XXI. Here is a list of all the winners through the years:

* 1978 Jaan Eslon

* 1979 Larry Christiansen

* 1981 Anatoly Karpov / Larry Christiansen

* 1983 Boris Spassky

* 1985 Ljubomir Ljubojevic / Robert Hübner

* 1988 Jan Timman

* 1989 Vassily Ivanchuk

* 1990 Garry Kasparov

* 1991 Vassily Ivanchuk

* 1992 Garry Kasparov

* 1993 Garry Kasparov

* 1994 Anatoly Karpov

* 1995 Vassily Ivanchuk

* 1997 Garry Kasparov

* 1998 Viswanathan Anand

* 1999 Garry Kasparov

* 2000 Vladimir Kramnik / Garry Kasparov

* 2001 Garry Kasparov

* 2002 Garry Kasparov

* 2003 Péter Lékó / Vladimir Kramnik

* 2004 Vladimir Kramnik

* 2005 Garry Kasparov / Veselin Topalov

* 2006 Levon Aronian

* 2007 Viswanathan Anand

* 2008 Viswanathan Anand

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018