Torneo Internacional Ciudad de Pamplona

22nd to 29th December

The 18th Torneo Internacional Ciudad de Pamplona will take place on 22-29th December. This traditional chess tournament is organized by the Institution Oberena, sponsored by the Government of Navarre and the City council of Pamplona and it is recognized officially by FIDE. The playing system is 7-rounds of round robin and the time control will be 120 minutes for all the moves, with an increment of 30 seconds per move starting from the first move.

Besides the starting fees, there will be an interesting distribution of prizes – for final ranking and according to the number of victories.

Prizes for the final ranking: 1st place 2.000 €, 2nd place 1.000 €, 3rd place 500 €. The second part, until a total of 3.500 € will be equally split according to the number of victories achieved in the tournament.

Francisco Vallejo Pons won the 2007 edition, half a point ahead of Wang Yue and Baadur Jobava.


1. Krishnan Sasikiran 2694 IND

2. Michael Roiz 2677 ISR

3. Vladimir Malakhov 2675 RUS

4. Francisco Vallejo Pons 2664 ESP

5. Fabiano Caruana 2640 ITA

6. Aleksander Delchev 2632 BUL

7. Ian Nepomniachtchi 2616 RUS

8. Ivan Salgado Lopez 2556 ESP

Organizer: IO Joaquín Pérez-Seoane

Tournament Director: GM Jesus De la Villa

Chief Arbiter: IA Jesus Mena

Deputy Chief Arbiter: IA Javier Fernandez

Official website

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018