10th Poikovsky Karpov tournament

Alexei Shirov is top seeded at Poikovsky 2009

Alexei Shirov square 1

The 10th International Poikovsky chess tournament in honor of former world champion Anatoly Karpov will take place on 3-12th June, 2009. The recent winner of Mtel Masters and Final Masters in Bilbao participant GM Alexei Shirov is top seeded in the event. He will play in the strong competition of three other 2700 club members – GM Gashimov, GM Rublevsky, and GM Naiditsch, while all the players in the event are over 2650.

The opening ceremony will take place in the Youth Center on the 3rd of June, Round 1 starts on the same day. Rounds will be played daily at 15:00 local time (13:00 CET), expect detailed coverage on!


GM Alexei Shirov (2745)

GM Vugar Gashimov (2730)

GM Sergei Rublevsky (2702)

GM Arkadij Naiditsch (2700)

GM Viktor Bologan (2690)

GM Alexander Onischuk (2684)

GM Zahar Efimenko (2682)

GM Alexander Motylev (2677)

GM Ernesto Inarkiev (2676)

GM Emil Sutovsky (2660)

Previous edition information

Official site

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018