Polish Chess Championship 2009

Unexpected cancellations, field narrowed to 12 players

The Polish Chess Championship is set to take place from 26th January to 8th February in the small village of Chotowa in south-eastern Poland. The Championship experienced serious setback when a number of national’s leading Grandmasters, like Bartosz Soćko, Michal Krasenkow, Tomasz Markowski and Robert Kempiński, have canceled participation for various reasons.

Furthermore, some of the reserve players have refused to fill the empty seats and thus the field has been narrowed from 14 to 12 players. On the positive note, some of the talented young lions, like 14-years old IM Dariusz Swiercz, have gotten a chance to fight for the national title. The average age of the current lineup is only 21! European Rapid Champion and Rilton Cup winner Radosław Wojtaszek is top seeded.

At the present there is no official website.


GM Radosław Wojtaszek 2608

GM Bartłomiej Macieja 2607

GM Kamil Miton 2595

GM Mateusz Bartel 2594

GM Grzegorz Gajewski 2581

GM Aleksander Mista 2559

GM Marcin Dziuba 2556

IM Michał Olszewski 2517

IM Dariusz Swiercz 2472

IM Jacek Tomczak 2465

IM Kacper Piorun 2464

FM Marcel Kanarek 2453

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018