2008 SPICE Cup

19-28th September in Lubbock, Texas

Following the huge success of the last year’s SPICE Cup, Texas Tech University and Susan Polgar Foundation have decided to expand the festival activities and provide an even stronger player lineup. Original idea was to compose 13th or 14th category field, but according to the recent information posted on Susan Polgar’s blog, the upcoming 2008 SPICE Cup will be a category 15 event, which is the highest rated 10-player International RR tournament in U.S. history.

So far nine participants have been confirmed, the last invitation will go out right after the July 1, 2008 FIDE rating list is published, to ensure the average rating of 2600+ FIDE. Apparently, there is a huge interest among the high rated players to come to Lubbock, so it shouldn’t be too hard for the organizers to achieve their high category goal.

Confirmed players:

GM Alexander Onischuk (USA 2663)

GM Varuzhan Akobian (USA 2612)

GM Gregory Kaidanov (USA 2611)

GM JulioBecerra (USA 2601)

GM Leonid Kritz (GER 2600)

GM Victor Mikhalevski (ISR 2597)

GM Hannes Stefansson (ISL 2583)

GM Kamil Miton (POL 2581)

GM Eugene Perelshteyn (USA 2549 FIDE), last year winner

Spice 2

Group photo from the 2007 SPICE Cup

“The SPICE Cup Invitational will be the main attraction of the annual SPICE Cup Festival. Other activities include the Texas Women’s Open Championship, SPICE Cup Grand Prix, SPICE Cup Scholastic, SPICE Cup Pro-Am event, etc. Our goal is to add a group B next year and even more activities.” – said Susan Polgar.

Texas Women’s Open Championship on September 27-28

Texas Tech University, Student Union Building 2500 Broadway St. Lubbock TX

5 SS G/75 EF: $25 received by 8/20. $35 by 9/25 or $45 on site.

Prizes: $500-$250-$100 Top U1600 $100 Top Unrated $50.

Reg: 9/27 8:30-10:15am.

Rds: 9/27 10:30-2:30-7:00 and 9/28 10:00-2:00.

TCA membership required. Open for all women players. Top finishing Texas resident will be crowned as TX Women’s Champion.

Info: SPICE 806-742-7742


Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018