Thailand Open Chess Championship 2009

1-6th April, at Aisawan Resort and Spa, Wongamart Beach

Officially titled the “Thailand Open Chess Championship 2009″, the 9th BCC Open will be held at the beautiful Aisawan Resort and Spa in quiet Wongamart Beach, only 2km from the famous Pattaya Beach, on 1-6th April 2009. The title sponsor is the Thailand Chess Association. With a prize fund of 400,000 Baht (about US$12,000), more than double that of previous years, and a top prize of approximately € 2,000 Euros, the tournament is sure to attract even more high-ranked players than before. It is also the ideal companion tournament for Australia’s Doeberl Cup starting on the 9th of April. Players from 34 countries have already registered, and more than 10 Grandmasters including a back-in-form Nigel Short (ELO 2663).

Nigel Short square

GM Nigel Short

Tournament Regulations

* This is an individual tournament, open to all players.

* There are two groups of play: Open category for all players, and Challenger category for players rated below 2100 or unrated (ratings based on FIDE or Thai ELO ratings – other national ratings will be validated by the organizer). When registering, players must indicate in which group they wish to play.

* FIDE (International Chess Federation) rules and regulations shall apply. Results will be sent for FIDE rating calculations.

* Both groups will be played using the Swiss System, with 9 rounds for BCC Open, and 7 rounds for BCC Challenger. For the pairings, a Swiss Manager program will be used.

* The matches shall be conducted according to the schedule, which will be made known to the respective players before the start of the tournament.

* Each player is accorded with a time control of 90 minutes plus 30 seconds per move.

* Five minutes before the games start, the Chief Arbiter shall make the announcement accordingly. If any player is not present within an hour after the game is started, he shall lose by default.

* FIDE regulations apply for mobile phones, which must be switched off during playing times. Penalty is automatic loss of game.

* Officials and players should be smartly attired at all times while in the playing hall.

Top seeded players (of total 191 currently registered):

GM Short Nigel ENG 2663

GM Mchedlishvili Mikheil GEO 2619

GM Li Shilong CHN 2559

GM Timoshenko Georgy UKR 2551

GM Paragua Mark PHI 2537

GM Kunte Abhijit IND 2527

GM Moradiabadi Elshan IRI 2505

GM Ivanov Mikhail M. RUS 2497

IM Bitoon Richard PHI 2473

GM Kekelidze Mikheil GEO 2468

GM Pogorelov Ruslan UKR 2451

GM Bakre Tejas IND 2448

IM Sengupta Deep IND 2445

IM Roy Chowdhury Saptarshi IND 2444

IM Sriram Jha IND 2441

IM Sachdev Tania IND 2435

IM Mas Hafizulhelmi MAS 2421

GM Ghane Shojaat IRI 2413

IM Saptarshi Roy IND 2410


The playing hall

The playing venue is Aisawan Resort and Spa. Address: 445/3 Moo 5, Soi Wongamart Pattaya – Naklua Road, Banglamung, Chonburi 20150.

More information on the official website

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018