World Team Chess Championship 2009 – 2010

From 5th until 14th January in Bursa, Turkey

Bursa logo

The 2009 World Team Chess Championship is set to take place from 5th until 14th January in Bursa, the old capitol of Turkey. The event is organized by the Government of Turkey and the Turkish Chess Federation (TCF) with the patronage of the Bursa Metropolitan Municipality.

The Federations qualified to participate in the Championship are Continental Champions – Russia, Brazil, India (replacing China) and Egypt, top three teams from the 2008 Chess Olympiad – Armenia, Israel and USA, two teams invited by the FIDE President’s approval – Azerbaijan and Greece, and the host Turkey.

The tournament system is 9-rounds all-play-all. Time control for the event is 90 min/40 moves +30 min/end, with 30 seconds additional time per move, starting from move one.

Each team consists of six players (4 plus 2 reserves) and one captain. The organizer is providing all teams with full hospitality including lodging, accommodation and transport from the Istanbul airport. In addition, the players will receive daily honorarium, but under obligation to appear at the opening and closing ceremony. Draw offers during the first 30 moves are not allowed and zero tolerance rule will be in force.

China withdrew the team on a very late notice, but India accepted to jump in and complete the field. Indian team is not yet known. On a different subject, Russia tried to register Sergey Karjakin as a player under their flag, but the strict FIDE regulation did not allow it, thus the captain enlisted Dmitry Jakovenko.


Levon Aronian 2786

Vladimir Akopian 2700

Gabriel Sargissian 2676

Arman Pashikian 2656

Tigran Petrosian 2615

Tigran Kotanjian 2542


Boris Gelfand 2758

Michael Roiz 2659

Ilia Smirin 2662

Emil Sutovsky 2666

Evgeny Postny 2650

Maxim Rodhstein 2650


Hikaru Nakamura 2715

Alexander Onischuk 2672

Yuri Shulman 2623

Varuzhan Akobian 2624

Robert L. Hess 2572

Ray Robson 2567


Alexander Morozevich 2750

Alexander Grischuk 2736

Vladimir Malakhov 2706

Dmitry Jakovenko 2736

Evgeny Tomashevsky 2708

Nikita Vityugov 2694


Giovanni Vescovi 2648

Rafael Leitao 2621

Alexandr Fier 2653

Gilberto Milos 2603

Andre Diamant 2493

Darcy Lima 2504


Ahmed Adly 2583

Bassem Amin 2553

Mohamed Ezat 2472

Khaled Abdel Razik 2469

Imed Abdelnabbi 2447

Walaa Sarwat 2405


Vugar Gashimov 2758

Teimour Radjabov 2748

Shakhriyar Mamedyarov 2719

Rauf Mamedov 2634

Gadir Guseinov 2625

Nidjat Mamedov 2617


Vassilios Kotronias 2599

Ioannis Papaioannou 2628

Hristos Banikas 2615

Stelios Halkias 2573

Dimitrios Mastrovasilis 2569

Athanasios Mastrovasilis 2513


Kivanc Haznedaroglu 2497

Mert Erdogdu 2489

Mustafa Yilmaz 2468

Emre Can 2449

Baris Esen 2493

Burak Firat 2392

Official website

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018